Mixed Drinks – Tim Jamieson

This guy was really annoying me. He’d been trying it on with every girl at my party since he arrived before finally finding some sympathy from Sally. I was watching from the kitchen, busy pretending to look for something in the cupboard.

They were having a conversation over by the punch bowl. I had hoped for a chilled dinner party but that never happens when you know the people I do. Things had escalated quickly.

Sally pointed down the hall and said something to the guy. Looked like she was going to the toilet. She seemed a little wobbly, but then again so did everyone else, including me probably. I knew she could handle her drink so I wasn’t too worried about her.

The guy coughed and spluttered and looked around him to see if anyone noticed. Disgusting. From my vantage point he couldn’t see me and I just couldn’t tear myself away. This guy that was really winding me up. I watched as he put out two red Solo cups my American friends had bought over for the occasion and poured some punch into both. He looked around and coughed again, this time his hand flashed over one of the cups. He dropped something in. A pill maybe. My heart started to race, did he just spike her drink?

Out of nowhere a friend of mine slapped me on the back and said, “There you are! Mate what are you doing? This party is rocking, Jason just puked all over the beer pong table. It’s your birthday man, get involved!”

“Haha cool man,” I said half halfheartedly, “I’ll be over in a minute.”

“OK dude. You look pale man, get some water before your next drink. You’re getting old.”

He slapped me again and walked off.

I felt sick. I looked back around and he was still over by the punch bowl waiting for Sally to come back. Did he drop something in her drink? I couldn’t be sure, it certainly looked like it. I couldn’t exactly go over and accuse him of it, that would be a total disaster, plus I had no proof.

“Shit,” I whispered under my breath.

My mind raced and I made my decision. I picked up my beer and walked over to him.

“Hey. How’s it going man? I don’t think we’ve met, I’m Tim,” I said.

“Hi,” he said, “uh, it’s your birthday isn’t it? Some buddies said I could come along.”

“Yeah it is. No worries; the more the merrier.”

“Cool, well, happy birthday,” he said with a smile.

“Thanks man. Hey you’ve got something on the sole of your shoe mate,” I said pointing down.

He turned and looked down at his shoe, lifting it up into the air behind him to check the bottom in the rather camp pose I was hoping for.

I swapped the cups over in a flash.

In a high pitched voice I said, “Oi, oi, sailor,” and laughed.

“Sorry mate, old joke, had to be done. Catch you later anyway.”

He gave me a half smile back.

As if on cue Sally came walking over, he picked up her cup and handed it to her.

“Cheers guys!” I said as we all took a big swig of our drinks.

“Enjoy the party,” I added, as I meandered off to the next room.

Leave a Reply

